Main Office:Address: 702 MacDade Blvd, Collingdale, PA 19023, Phone: (484) 497-5909, Fax: (610) 537-7368,
If you are unaware of what is required to have your license restored,you should obtain a restoration requirements letter, which outlines the specific steps you must complete to have your driving privilege restored. We can provide you with this and go over the steps on getting your license back.
To obtain a duplicate driver's license, you must complete a Non-Commercial Driver's Application to Change/Correct/Replace (Form DL-80). You can come into our office and we can help with to process of obtaining a duplicate license.
You need to provide acceptable proof of insurance within 30 days of the cancellation date. If you had a lapse of insurance for 30 days or less and the vehicle was not driven during the 30 days or less lapse, you must also provide an MV-221“Statement of Non-operation of Vehicle”. If unable to provide the insurance and statement, you must return your registration plate, sticker and card to serve a 3-month suspension. OR In lieu of serving a registration suspension, you have the option to make a payment of a civil penalty. The optional civil penalty fee is $500.00. Additionally, you are required to pay a restoration fee in the amount of $88.00. You may opt for the civil penalty in lieu of suspension no more than once in a 12-month period. Payment of the civil penalty, along with your restoration fee and proof of current insurance, will allow you to maintain registration on your vehicle without the requirement to serve a three month registration suspension. To use this option, visit PennDOT's website at www.dmv.state.pa.us and click the link "Pay Civil Penalty," and complete required steps or you may mail your certified check or money order payable to the PA Department of Transportation in the amount of $588.00 (which includes your restoration fee) along with current proof of insurance and completed Form MV-222, "Application for Payment of Civil Penalty in Lieu of Registration Suspension.”….. Call our office for more information.
1. A valid Pennsylvania Photo Driver’s License; 2. A valid Pennsylvania Photo Identification Card; 3. A valid Pennsylvania Photo Exempt Driver's License; 4. A valid Pennsylvania Photo Exempt Identification Card; or 5. A valid U.S. Armed Forces Common Access Card − Dependents of Armed Forces personnel must provide a valid United States Uniformed Services Identification and Privilege Card (DD Form 1173)
No and it is not an acceptable form of insurance.
If you received a Section 6308 citation and were involved in an accident and your record indicates you are in "Requested Status," a current proof of insurance is required. If your record indicates you are in "Pending or Active Status," you will need to provide proof of insurance prior to the suspension effective date and current proof of insurance, which cannot be expired. If you received a Section 1786 citation and were involved in an accident, a letter on letterhead from your insurance company, specifying you had insurance on the date of the citation, is required. If it is determined that you were without insurance, your vehicle registration and driver's license will be suspended for three months each. To surrender the registration plate, sticker and card, mail them to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles Return Tag Unit P.O. Box 68597 Harrisburg, PA 17106-8597
A lapse in insurance coverage results in the suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for three months. The registration plate and card must be surrendered to PennDOT in order to serve the suspension. Restoration fees of $50/$88 and proof of insurance must be submitted prior to having your registration privilege returned. To surrender the registration plate, sticker and card, mail them to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles Return Tag Unit P.O. Box 68597 Harrisburg, PA 17106-8597
No, Insurance companies are NOT required by law to notify PennDOT when a vehicle owner acquires a new policy. It is the vehicle owner’s responsibility.
Only if PennDOT sends you a letter requesting proof of insurance.
Insurance maintained by the lien holder is not liability insurance: it only protects the lender. Collateral protection insurance is not an acceptable form of insurance.
You still need to be compliant to the law and to have maintained insurance for the vehicle. If you were not compliant and a suspension is likely, you may contact the Insurance Department at 1-877-881-6388 to file a complaint.
The letter must be on company letterhead and contain the policy number, effective date and expiration date, VIN and the insurance company's NAIC number and must be signed and dated by an official representative of the insurance company's headquarter.
If they are a company that is licensed to write in PA, we will accept it. IF they are not licensed in PA, they have to meet our limits to write automobile insurance in PA.
Since the suspension follows the vehicle and not the plate; you may transfer the plate to a new vehicle. However, the credit towards serving the suspension on your old vehicle will not begin until the date the plate was transferred. If the plate was transferred within 30 days of the insurance cancellation, the record suspension will be removed.
You must surrender the plate upon cancellation of insurance or register the vehicle as a Seasonal Registration. To surrender the registration plate, sticker and card, mail them to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles Return Tag Unit P.O. Box 68597 Harrisburg, PA 17106-8597
Military hardship cases are the only situations the Bureau will give additional review. NOTE: This requires the review of a supervisor in the Financial Responsibility Unit.
Pennsylvania law does not dictate a minimum or maximum age for owning/registering a vehicle. However, you should check with your insurance company to see if they have any restrictions regarding an owner’s age.
No. Only trailers are exempt from maintaining insurance.
By contacting us!
By contacting us!
Instead of receiving individual registration renewal applications for each vehicle that must be completed and signed, one invoice is produced listing all the vehicles expiring in a given month. The invoice then just needs a signature and insurance information and submitted to the Department with the required fees.
Simply draw a line through that line item you wish to remove (preferably red ink so it stands out). The vehicle will be removed from the renewal and a new invoice will be created for the remaining vehicles.
A fleet account consists of 15 or more vehicles unless you are registering taxis, limousines or buses.